Expat in Germany

January 10, 2014

I have lived 2 hours south of Berlin for 7 months and up until December had only been there once, to fly out of the airport.  Finally, I made a trip to this international city for a weekend with a good friend (A friend who has now left me for Belgium.  Thanks a lot, friend. ::wink::).

First impression:  This city is HUGE.  It’s so spread out compared to Dresden.  Then again, Dresden is pretty small.  Maybe that’s why I like it so much.  One point, Dresden.

Second impression:  It’s dirty.  Dresden is clean.  Berlin has tons of graffiti and trash lining its streets.  Two points, Dresden.

Third impression:  The people I met can pinpoint an East German by attitude, clothing and whether or not he/she had a baby by the age of 22.  I found this hilarious but also true.  The history of East/West Germany is still affecting the way people live here.  One point, Berlin.

Game over.  Dresden wins!!  Ok, I’m a bit biased.  Berlin is probably a lovely city, but I didn’t have a lot of time to see the sights.  We were there for a house party and it was also too cold for me to muster up any enthusiasm for sight-seeing.  But hey Berlin, you’re only 2 hours away… that’s what I’ll probably tell myself for the next 7 months to come.

mm

3 thoughts on “Expat in Germany

Leave a Reply

