German customs

July 17, 2015

It’s normal to spend up to 2 hours in the waiting room of a German doctor’s office.  On one bored occasion I wrote this…

Here at the doctor’s office for my 35 year old check up.  I don’t know if I’ll ever grow accustomed to saying “Guten Morgen” to everyone when I walk into the waiting room.  It is comparable to public speaking.  I’m allergic to public speaking.  And saying “Auf Wiedersehen” to every single person who leaves the waiting room is so much work!  It disrupts my reading time.

Five minutes after I sat down in the waiting room, I’ve said “Guten Morgen” three times and “Auf Wiedersehen” once.  The last thing I want to do when I’m sick is talk to other people.  Leave me alone.  But that’s not the norm here.  Wait… wait a minute… a lady patient just walked in to the waiting room.  She said nothing.  NOTHING!  I looked at her strangely.  I even glared at her with piercing eyes of judgement.  How dare she?!

German customs now only take 6 minutes to sink in to my skin.

screen-shot-2016-03-01-at-11-17-30-am

Some more weird German Customs:

  1. No drilling on Sundays.  You are not allowed to do manual labor on Sundays.
  2. Every office must have a view of the sky.  Otherwise, it is in violation of a health law.
  3. No masks at protests.  You can not wear a mask over your face if you are protesting.
  4. No nighttime piano tuning.  Strictly verboten.
  5. “Deutschland, Deutschland über alles” is illegal to sing. It means “Germany above all” and it was introduced as the German National Anthem by the Nazis.  It was banned from singing at the end of WWII.
4 thoughts on “German customs

  1. L Guillen says:

    love your posts!

    On Wed, Aug 10, 2016 at 5:30 AM, Gene-ious Travel wrote:

    > GENE-ious Travel posted: “July 17, 2015 It’s normal to spend up to 2 hours > in the waiting room of a German doctor’s office. On one bored occasion I > wrote this… Here at the doctor’s office for my 35 year old check up. I > don’t know if I’ll ever grow accustomed to saying “Guten M” >

    Like

Leave a Reply

